US allows India, 7 other nations to buy oil from Iran even after sanctions

The United States said on Friday it would temporarily allow eight importers to keep buying Iranian oil when it reimposes sanctions on Monday to try to force Iran to curb its nuclear, missile and regional activities. US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, who announced the decision, did not name the eight which he referred to as jurisdictions, a term that might include importers such as Taiwan, which the United States does not regard as a country. However, he said the European Union as a whole, which has 28 members, would not receive a waiver. Turkish Energy Minister Fatih Donmez said Turkey had been told it would be granted a waiver. India, Iraq and South Korea were also on the list, said such exceptions can only be granted for up to 180 days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *